United Arab Emirates Main Cities

Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi

According to Youremailverifier, Abu Dhabi is the largest state and most important member of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), about 73 060 km 2, (2015) 2.78 million residents. The capital is the city of Abu Dhabi.

Abu Dhabi is by far the most oil-rich sheikdom in the UAE and generates almost 75% of its total oil production. The development of the oil deposits and the production started in 1962 has led to an immense economic upswing, combined with increased infrastructural expansion, and finances the UAE budget. Motorways connect the desert-like parts of the country outside the oases in the west (oil fields and petrochemicals in the Ruwais industrial zone, opened in 1982), in the south (Liwa oases with oil production) and in the east (oasis and university city of Al-Ain) with the capital Abu Dhabi and its Suburbs on the mainland. The also occurring natural gas is exported partly liquefied by sea, partly used domestically for industry (in Ruwais; urea, chlorine, PVC), seawater desalination and electricity generation. The emirate strives for economic diversification, in particular by promoting trade and tourism.

History: In 1806–20 British troops subjugated the so-called pirate coast on the Persian Gulf. The British East India Company secured the beginning of British patronage by signing a “General Peace Treaty” (January 8, 1820) with seven native tribal princes, which was expanded until 1892 through a large number of other treaties with the so-called contracting states (also “Treaty Man”); In 1902 the British Protectorate was proclaimed. – Until 1929, pearl fishing was important in Abu Dhabi; After the oil wells were gradually opened up (from 1938), oil production and export (from 1962; first from the island of Das) gained economic importance. – After the announcement of the abolition of the Protectorate (January 17, 1968), the Emir of Abu Dhabi in particular endeavored to Said Ibn Sultan an-Nahajan (* probably 1918, † 2004; 1966–2004 head of state), about the formation of the United Arab Emirates, of which Abu Dhabi became the most important part of the state. 1973 Abu Dhabi submitted to the federal government; from 1975 onwards the national symbols, which had been their own until then, took a back seat. In 2004, Sheikh Chalifa Ibn Said al-Nahajan (* 1949) became head of state (also president of the UAE).

Abu Dhabi


Sharja [ ʃ ard ʒ a], Schardja [d ʒ a], Sharjah, Ash Shariqah [a ʃ ʃ a-], the third largest part of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, 2 600 km 2, 1.41 million residents; The capital is Sharja. The sheikdom stretches from the coast (20 km in length) into the hinterland and includes several exclaves: the Daid oasis inland and the coastal towns of Khor Fakkan on the Gulf of Oman with a container port and Portuguese fort (16th century), Khalba with the remains of a Portuguese fort (also 16th century) and mangrove forests as well as Diba with a protected natural harbor (fishing port, shared with Fujaira and Oman); Hamriyah Free Zone (deep water port). While the oil industry is stagnating (Mubarak field near the island of Abu Masa, which has been occupied by Iran since 1971), the mainland natural gas fields Sajaa (since 1982) and Kahaif (since 1994) are important for exports to Dubai as well as energy suppliers for the local industry (chemical industry, Aluminum production). Sharja is considered the cultural center of the Federation.

History: Sharja came under British rule in the 19th century (protectorate; 1940 important air base of the Allies in World War II, until 1968 the most important British military base in the Gulf region); was a founding member of the United Arab Emirates in 1971. Sheikh Sultan Ibn Mohammed al-Kasimi has been head of state since 1972.

Ras al-Khaima

Ras al-Khaima [- xa ɪ ma], Ras al-Chaymah, part of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), the Persian Gulf, 1,700 km 2, (2015) 470 000 residents; The capital is Ras al-Khaima (263,000 residents).

There are numerous lagoons with mangrove forests along the coast. The capital, historical Julfar, is the seat of the ruler and the regional administration. The deep-sea port Mina Sakr (since 1979) and the largest cement factory in the UAE is located in Khor Khuwair. There are modern cattle and poultry farms in the inland oasis of Digdaga. Ras al-Khaima has a stake in the Omani Bukha natural gas field (since 1984). Since 2000 there has been a free production zone (business park, technology center, industrial park); Pharmaceutical company; international Airport. Luxury resorts (Al Hamra Village, Al Marjan Island) have been built on artificial land in the lagoons since the middle of the 21st century.

Ras al-Khaima, which belonged to the (later) “Contracting States” after 1819. An important pirate base for a long time in the 19th century, it became a part of the UAE in 1972. Sheikh Saud Ibn Sakr al-Kasimi (* 1956) has been the head of state since 2010. The islands of Big and Small Tanab have been occupied by Iran since 1971.


Fujaira [-d ʒ -], Fujayrah, Fudjaira, Fujairah, part of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on the Gulf of Oman , 1,300 km 2, (2015) 213 700 residents; The capital is Fujaira. – The emirate is conveniently located for transit traffic from the Indian Ocean to the Arabian Peninsula. In the capital, container port (since 1983) with free trade and commercial zone, international airport. – Under British colonial rule since the 19th century, Fujaira was one of the founding members of the UAE on December 2, 1971; Sheikh Hamad Ibn Mohammed al-Sharki has been the head of state since 1974.

Umm al-Kaiwain

Umm al-Kaiwain, Umm al-Qaiwayn [-kai-], part of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), on the Persian Gulf, 780 km 2, (2010) 65,000 residents; The capital is Umm al-Kaiwain. – The capital of the same name (traditional boat building, fishing; fishing port) is located on an arm of the Persian Gulf. With Sharja, Umm al-Kaiwain has a share in the Mubarak oil field; the sheikdom includes the inland oasis Falaj al-Malla with modern cattle and poultry farming; Tourism. – Under British rule since the 19th century, Umm al-Kaiwain was one of the founding states of the UAE in 1971. Sheikh Saud Ibn Raschid Al-Mu’alla (* 1952) has been the head of state since 2009 .


Ajman [ad ʒ ma ː n], Ajman, part of State of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), 260 km 2, (2010) 263 000 residents; The capital is Ajman. The capital (fishing port, shipyard, residential area for commuters to Sharja) is surrounded by the Emirate of Sharja. Ajman includes the exclaves of Masfut and Manama (temporarily with their own postage stamps) in the Oman Mountains. Ajman, which belongs to the “signatory states”, became independent in 1971 and became part of the UAE (since 1969 its own coat of arms). Sheikh Humaid Raschid Ibn al-Nuaimi (* 1931) has been the head of state since 1981.