History and Politics of Panama City

Politics of Panama City


Since its discovery in 1501 by Rodrigo de Bastidas, the Isthmus of Panama and mainly its city have become an International Center par excellence.

The first Spanish to visit the lands of the current province of Panama was Vasco Nuñez de Balboa in 1513. Pedrarias Davila founded the 15 of August of 1519 the city of Our Lady of the Assumption of Panama, the first city on the shores of the Sea of the South.

Recognized as a city in 1521, it was until 1671 the main city of the Isthmus until it was sacked by the pirate Henry Morgan. Morgan obtained so much wealth from his looting that he needed 165 mules to carry the loot. After the destruction of this first city of Panama, their transfer to a small peninsula near Cerro Ancón was ordered.

The new city of Panama was founded in 1673, not as rich as the old one, but much more protected.

Over the course of its history spanning five centuries, it influenced the society, culture, literature, art, architecture, religion, and dress of succeeding centuries.

The city is the main cultural and economic center of the country, has an intense financial activity and an international banking center, currently occupies the 2nd position in the 2013 version of the classification of the Most Competitive Cities in Latin America. The Panama Canal and tourism are also notable sources of income for the economy of the city, which has a tropical climate, along with natural parks and other attractive places of interest. Its wide cultural and gastronomic offer made it elected as the American Capital of Culture in 2003 (together with Curitiba, Brazil). It occupies position no. 93 worldwide and 3rd in the region, in the cities with the best quality of life in 2010.

Isthmus of Panama

According to youremailverifier, the Isthmus of Panama was discovered by the Spanish explorer Don Rodrigo de Bastidas in 1501, who on that trip was accompanied by Vasco Núñez de Balboa, later discoverer of the Pacific Ocean. A year later, in 1502, the discoverer of America, Christopher Columbus, visited the Isthmus on his fourth and last trip. He tried to establish a colony but failed in his attempt.

In 1508 the period of Conquest of the Isthmus of Panama began, which was then known as Castilla de Oro. The first colony was established by Don Pedro Arias Dávila, governor appointed by the Spanish Crown in the Darién in the region bathed by the waters of the Sea. Caribbean.

In 1513, Balboa discovered the South Sea, later known as the Pacific Ocean. Six years later, due to controversies he had with the Governor, he was beheaded in the town of Acla in 1519. The exploration of the Pacific gave rise to the meeting of a healthy site and to that place Pedrarias moved the population, giving the name of Panama to the new city.The exploration of the Pacific later culminated with the discovery and conquest of Peru, as well as that of other territories in central America.

Two years later it was moved to what is now known as the Old Town. In the 273 years that followed, the city did not spread beyond where the Hotel El Panama is located. Its growth was limited to a long strip of land between the coast and the limits of the Canal Zone.

However, in recent years, the city has expanded rapidly in various directions and now that the territory of the Canal Zone has been reversed, the city is expanding over this area as well.

Historical figures

  • Francisco Arias Paredes: He was born in 1946. Son of Don Ricardo Arias, one of the separatist deeds of 1903. He began his primary studies at the Colegio del Istmo and then went to the United States of America, where he crowned his education in the field of finance.


Panama has five sites on the UNESCO World Heritage list.

Two of them are in the cultural category: the fortifications of Portobelo and San Lorenzo and the archaeological site of Panamá Viejo, and the other three are part of the natural heritage: Darién National Park, La Amistad Reserve and Coiba National Park.

Political-administrative organization

The city is located in the district of Panama, although the metropolitan area of Panama City also includes the district of San Miguelito, as well as other urban areas located on the other side of the Panama Canal, belonging mainly to the district of Arraiján and part of La Chorrera.

It is currently made up of 24 townships:

  1. San Felipe
  2. The Chorrillo
  3. Saint Ana
  4. Calidonia
  5. Curundú
  6. Ancon
  7. Beautiful view
  8. Bethania
  9. San Francisco
  10. New town
  11. Lefevre Park
  12. Down river
  13. Juan Diaz
  14. The hills
  15. Pacora
  16. Tocumen
  17. Pedregal
  18. Las Mañanitas
  19. San Martin
  20. 24
  21. Chilibre
  22. Mayor Diaz
  23. Ernesto Cordoba Campos
  24. Caimitillo

Politics of Panama City