Paradise Panama

Panama, officially known as the Republic of Panama, is a country located in Central America. It is bordered by Costa Rica to the west, Colombia to the southeast, the Caribbean Sea to the north, and the Pacific Ocean to the south. Panama is strategically positioned as a bridge between North and South America, with the famous Panama Canal running through its narrow isthmus.



Panama features a tropical climate with distinct wet and dry seasons. The wet season typically lasts from May to December, bringing heavy rainfall and high humidity. The dry season, from January to April, offers drier and sunnier weather. Temperatures remain relatively consistent year-round, ranging from 24°C to 30°C (75°F to 86°F).


Panama boasts rich biodiversity, with lush rainforests, mangroves, and diverse ecosystems. Its wildlife includes a variety of mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Notable species include the jaguar, sloth, toucan, and various species of monkeys. The country’s marine life is also abundant, with vibrant coral reefs and diverse fish species.

Longest Rivers

The Chagres River is the longest river in Panama, stretching approximately 193 kilometers (120 miles) in length. It originates from the Cordillera de San Blas and flows into the Panama Canal, providing an important source of freshwater for the canal and surrounding communities.

Highest Mountains

Panama’s highest peak is Volcán Barú, an inactive volcano located in the western province of Chiriquí. It stands at an impressive elevation of 3,474 meters (11,398 feet) above sea level. Climbing Volcán Barú offers breathtaking views of both the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea.



Panama has a rich history dating back thousands of years. The isthmus served as a crucial land bridge for indigenous peoples migrating between North and South America. Archaeological evidence suggests that Panama was inhabited as early as 15,000 years ago by various indigenous groups, including the Cueva and Cocle cultures.

Colonial Period

In 1501, Spanish explorer Rodrigo de Bastidas became the first European to explore the isthmus of Panama. The Spanish subsequently conquered the region in the early 16th century and established the colony of New Granada, which encompassed present-day Panama, Colombia, Venezuela, and Ecuador. The town of Panama City, founded in 1519, became a key hub for Spanish trade and exploration in the Americas.

Independence and Modern Age

Panama gained independence from Spain in 1821 as part of the wider movement for independence in Latin America. It then joined the Republic of Gran Colombia, which later dissolved in 1831, leading to the formation of the independent Republic of New Granada. In 1903, with the support of the United States, Panama declared independence from Colombia and signed the Hay-Bunau-Varilla Treaty, granting the U.S. control over the Panama Canal Zone. The canal was completed in 1914 and remained under U.S. control until it was handed over to Panama in 1999.



As of the latest available data, Panama has a population of approximately 4.4 million people. The population is diverse, with a mix of indigenous peoples, mestizos (mixed European and indigenous ancestry), Afro-Panamanians, and descendants of European immigrants.

Ethnicity and Language

The majority of Panamanians are mestizo, with significant indigenous and Afro-Panamanian populations. Indigenous groups include the Ngäbe-Buglé, Guna, Emberá, and Wounaan peoples. Spanish is the official language of Panama, though many indigenous communities also speak their own languages, such as Ngäbere and Guna.


Panama is predominantly Roman Catholic, with Catholicism being the largest religious denomination in the country. However, there is also a significant Protestant minority, as well as small communities of Muslims, Jews, and adherents of indigenous and Afro-Caribbean religions.

Administrative Divisions and Population

Panama is divided into ten provinces and three indigenous territories. Each province is further subdivided into districts and municipalities. The following is a list of Panama’s administrative divisions along with their populations:

  1. Panama Province – Population: 1.6 million
  2. Panama Oeste Province – Population: 600,000
  3. Colon Province – Population: 250,000
  4. Chiriquí Province – Population: 450,000
  5. Veraguas Province – Population: 250,000
  6. Herrera Province – Population: 120,000
  7. Los Santos Province – Population: 100,000
  8. Cocle Province – Population: 250,000
  9. Darien Province – Population: 50,000
  10. Bocas del Toro Province – Population: 170,000

10 Largest Cities by Population

  1. Panama City
  2. San Miguelito
  3. Tocumen
  4. David
  5. Arraiján
  6. Colón
  7. La Chorrera
  8. Santiago
  9. Chitré
  10. Aguadulce

Education Systems

Education in Panama is free and compulsory for children between the ages of 6 and 15. The education system follows a national curriculum and is divided into pre-primary, primary, secondary, and higher education levels. Panama has several universities and higher education institutions, including the University of Panama, the Technological University of Panama, and the Latin University of Panama.



Panama has several airports, with the most important being Tocumen International Airport in Panama City. Other major airports include Enrique Malek International Airport in David, Scarlett Martinez International Airport in Rio Hato, and Bocas del Toro International Airport.


Panama does not have any railways.


Panama has a well-developed highway network, including the Pan-American Highway, which runs through the length of the country. The total length of highways in Panama is approximately 11,000 kilometers (6,800 miles), facilitating transportation and commerce across the country.


Panama has several major ports that play a crucial role in international trade and commerce. The five major ports include:

  1. Balboa Port
  2. Manzanillo International Terminal
  3. Colon Container Terminal
  4. Cristobal Port
  5. PSA Panama International Terminal

Country Facts

  • Population: 4.4 million
  • Capital: Panama City
  • Official Language: Spanish
  • Religion: Predominantly Roman Catholic
  • Race: Mestizo, indigenous, Afro-Panamanian
  • Currency: Panamanian Balboa (PAB), though the United States Dollar (USD) is widely used
  • ISO Country Code: PA
  • International Calling Code: +507
  • Top-Level Domain: .pa